Day in the Life: Rachel Roy’s Fashion Calendar


If you follow celebrity trends, then you’ve definitely seen Rachel Roy’s creations on any number of A-listers. Her famous
clientele includes Michelle Obama, Kate Hudson, Jennifer Garner, Sharon Stone, Iman and Penelope Cruz, to new a few. But the Monterey–born designer’s life isn’t all glitz and glamour all the time. The entrepreneurial designer who segued an internship at Rocawear into a career in fashion design spends most of her time in New York City with her two daughters but still manages to stay close to home by carrying her collections at Neiman Marcus, Nordstrom and Macy’s in San Francisco. Before previewing her latest looks at Union Square’s “Fall 10” event, the 39-year-old fashionista sat down with Haute Living to discuss a day in her fashionable life.
6 AM – 7:30 AM: I wake up around six. If I’ve had a work event the night before, it might be a bit later. I help my 13-year-old, Ava, get ready for school and make sure she gets out the door at the right time, which is usually by 7:15 A.M.
7:30 AM – 9 AM: I have a little bit of alone time with my five-year-old, Tallulah. That is pretty much when I’m most present with her since it’s just us. That’s our time and she can pick what we do: we read, or we do something in Mommy’s room, which she absolutely loves, from dressing up to helping me pick what to wear to picking makeup. It’s just girls’ stuff.


9 AM – 11 AM: If I’m up to it and if schedule permits, I work out in my apartment, where I have a personal trainer. My yoga teacher Stacey comes over two times a week. She’ll ask me how I’m feeling, and whatever the answer is, that is how she’ll craft the yoga session.
11 AM – 6 PM: I get ready for work. A typical day changes all the time. There are so many aspects to the different categories that I do. I have set fittings during the week, as well as jewelry meetings, concept meetings, shoe fitting and print meetings. We also have weekly marketing meetings. I have lunch around 2 P.M. and I usually eat during the meeting.
6 PM – 7 PM: I usually have about three work events a week; an event can be anything from supporting a friend’s book opening to a movie screening to collaborations over dinner. If there’s an event, I usually start getting ready about 6 p.m.
7 PM – 1 AM: Showtime is always a late night, but it’s fun. We’re making the most amazing and fun choices that a girl could ever make. There are rooms filled with people that actually like talking about this stuff. Our goal is to make women feel really good about themselves once they’re dressed. Every decision is made from the heart. If I’m at home, then I go to bed by 11 P.M. I always start and end the day with a little bit of reading and keep books by my bed. I have learned to keep the electronics shut down and away from the bedroom. It has helped me; it is a signal of letting all my thoughts go.