Shafiroff Cocktail Announces Diahann Carroll as NY Mission Society Honoree

Larry Milstein, Jean Shafiroff, Edward Cox== Martin and Jean Shafiroff Host Kick-off Cocktails for NYC Mission Society== Private Residence, NYC== February 28, 2017== ©Patrick McMullan== Photo - Owen Hoffmann/PMC== ==
Larry Milstein, Jean Shafiroff, and  Edward Cox at
Martin and Jean Shafiroff  Kick-off Cocktails for NYC Mission Society
©Patrick McMullan/Owen Hoffmann/PMC

Author and philanthropist Jean Shafiroff and Martin Shafiroff recently held a cocktail party to announce the honorees for the New York City Mission Society’s annual Champions for Children Gala to be held Wednesday, April 5, 2017 at the Mandarin Oriental NY. This year actress and singer Diahann Carroll, entrepreneur Don Peebles, and three lifetime members of the Mission Society’s Board of Directors: actress and philanthropist Dina Merrill Hartley, whose family has supported the Mission Society for four generations; Lloyd W. Brown, II; and, LTC Francis W. Kairson, Jr. (Ret) will be honored. WABC News Anchor Bill Ritter, a longtime supporter of the Mission Society, will emcee the event. Performing that evening will be Kathy Sledge, the legendary voice of Sister Sledge, acclaimed singer Alex Donner and his rrchestra, and students enrolled in the Mission Society’s free after-school music education program, GRIOT.

Craig Dix, Angela Chen, Geoffrey Bradfield, Larry Kaiser
Craig Dix, Angela Chen, Geoffrey Bradfield, and Larry Kaiser

In addition to the Shafiroffs, guests at the cocktail included: Elsie McCabe Thompson, Kenita Lloyd, Katrinaand Don Peebles, Jay Morehead, Peggy and John Bader, Stan and Leah Rumbough, Geoffrey Bradfield, Edward Cox, Michael and Barbara Gross, Randi Schatz, Larry Milstein, B. Michael and Mark Anthony, Alex Donner, Helen Shelton, Craig Dix, Larry Kaiser, Flo Anthony, Angela Chen, Suzette Charles, Maggie Norris, Frederick Anderson, Joyce Brooks, Amanda Bowman , Natalie Ross, William Allen, Victor de Souza, and Matt Rich.

Jean Shafiroff, Elsie McCabe Thompson, Don Peebles, and Katrina Peebles
Jean Shafiroff, Elsie McCabe Thompson, Don Peebles, and Katrina Peebles

Co-chaired by Mission Society’s board members Jean Shafiroff (Gala Chair for the previous two years, and a former Mission Society Gala honoree) and Katrina Peebles, the benefit will support the Mission Society’s programs and services that help in-need youngsters and families in the city’s most underserved communities .This year’s Gala Committee includes: Tommie Pegues (Gala Vice Chair); Peggy and John Bader; Leah and Stanley Rumbough. Benefit Committee Members are: Alston & Bird, LLP; American Securities Foundation; Flo Anthony; Elaine Bernake Appelle; Kim Bingham; Sophia Bishop; Jerry Bonura; Geoffrey Bradfield; Henry Buhl; Victor de Souza; Lee Fryd; Penny Grant; Jo’Vion (J.D.) Greer; Shannon Hales; Michelle Herbert; Missy Kilroy and Jay Moorhead; Barbara and Francis Kairson, Jr.; Margo Langenberg; Brian Monroe; Riki Kane Larimer; Dustin Lujan; Lauren and James Peterson; Kim Renk and Greg Dyer; Natalie S. Ross; Helen Shelton; and Brooke and Derek Steinhiser.

Victoria Nicholson, Alex Donner, and Amanda Bowman
Victoria Nicholson, Alex Donner, and Amanda Bowman