A Look At The Upcoming Special Olympics South Florida Awards Gala 2017

Elle McPherson with Special Olympics Athlete Awards Gala guest in 2016
Elle MacPherson with Special Olympics Athlete Awards Gala guest in 2016

Special Olympics South Florida-Miami Dade County has announced its 5th Annual Athletes Awards to be held Saturday, September 23, 2017 at the JW Marriott Marquis. Chaired by Angela and Louis Birdman and co- chairs Ruth and Alan Zelcer, presented by Mass Mutual with media partners Haute Living and the Miami Herald.

Emmy Award-Winning ABC News Anchor Laurie Jennings and ABC Sports Director Will Manso will co-host this year’s event celebrating Eunice Kennedy Shriver’s legacy with a special performance by GRAMMY™ Award Winning Pop/R&B singer Jody Watley alongside 500 elite guests from the organization’s community partners.  The 2017 Athlete Awards provides an opportunity for Special Olympics Florida to recognize their most incredible athletes, coaches, volunteers and community partners in Miami-Dade County while raising awareness and funds for their county program that serves over 6,500 children and adults with intellectual disabilities.

Awards presenters for the evening will include Olympic gymnasts Alicia Quinn (Sacramone) and Bridget Sloan, GRAMMY™ Award winner Jon Secada, Miami Marlins president David Samson, and NFL player Laurent Robinson.

Guests of this years black tie event will enjoy premium cocktails and wines sponsored by Bacardi and Don Bernardino Artisan Wines from Spain, Fashion Vodka Party Collection and Fashion Prosseco, and Eagle Brands, a 3-course gourmet dinner, and live entertainment throughout the evening provided by University of Miami’s Frost School of Music. Special thanks to Platinum Sponsors: Apure, RSM, Plaza Construction; Gold Sponsors: Kaufman Rossin, Power Design, Inc. and the David L. Singer Memorial Foundation.

Each $350 ticket sponsors one athlete with intellectual disabilities for one year of sports training and competition. Tables begin at $3,500. To purchase tickets, a table or donate, click here. For the latest updates on Special Olympics South Florida, follow them on Facebook.

The 2017 host committee– Angels Birdman, Louis Birdman, Ruth Zelcer, and Alan Zelcer
The 2017 host committee– Alan and Ruth Zelcer, Angela and Louis Birman