Lazy Bear and The Progress Nab James Beard Award Recognition

james beard award nominees 2015 semifinalists lazy bear the progress
Squab foie gras, Lazy Bear

Photo Credit: David Barzelay

Congratulations are in order for two of San Francisco’s hautest new restaurants: David Barzelay‘s Lazy Bear in the Mission and Stuart Brioza and Nicole Krasinski‘s The Progress in the Western Addition. Both are among the semifinalists for the James Beard Foundation’s award for 2015 Best New Restaurant. Announcements were made today, and the Bay Area was very well represented, as usual, throughout the various categories for the awards that are considered the Academy Awards of the food industry.

Also receiving love: Traci Des Jardins, Nancy Oakes and Michael Tusk for Outstanding Chef; Acquerello, Greens and Restaurant Gary Danko for Outstanding Restaurant; and Matthew Accarrino, Brioza and Krasinski, Justin Cogley, Dominique Crenn, Tyler Florence, Mourad Lahlou, Corey Lee, Jennifer Puccio and Joshua Skenes among those up for Best Chef West.

Final Restaurant and Chef Award nominees will be announced at the James Beard House in New York City on March 24 with the 2015 James Beard Awards gala taking place at the Lyric Opera of Chicago on May 4, the first time in the James Beard Awards’ 25-year-history that the Awards gala will be held in the Windy City.

Here’s a complete list of James Beard Award semifinalists in the Bay Area:

Best New Restaurant
Lazy Bear, San Francisco
The Progress, San Francisco

Outstanding Restaurant
Restaurant Gary Danko

Outstanding Chef
Traci Des Jardins, Jardinière
Nancy Oakes, Boulevard
Michael Tusk, Quince

Outstanding Pastry Chef
Bill Corbett, Absinthe Group

Outstanding Baker
Belinda Leong and Michel Suas, B. Patisserie
William Werner, Craftsman and Wolves

Outstanding Bar Program
Bar Agricole, San Francisco
Trick Dog, San Francisco

Outstanding Wine Program
Casanova, Carmel
Press, St. Helena
La Toque, Napa

Outstanding Wine, Beer, or Spirits Professional
Jon Gasparini and Greg Lindgren, Rye on the Road
Ted Lemon, Littorai Wines, Sebastopol
Steve Matthiasson, Matthiasson Wines, Napa
Rajat Parr, Mina Group

Outstanding Restaurateur
Umberto Gibin, Perbacco and Barbacco
Michael Mina, Mina Restaurants
Cindy Pawlcyn, Mustards Grill and Cindy’s Back Street Kitchen in Napa

Outstanding Service
Aubergine at L’Auberge Carmel

Rising Star of the Year
Jessica Largey, Manresa, Los Gatos
Jeremy Wayne, La Folie

Best Chef: West
Matthew Accarrino, SPQR
Stuart Brioza and Nicole Krasinski, State Bird Provisions
Justin Cogley, Aubergine at L’Auberge Carmel
Dominique Crenn, Atelier Crenn
Tyler Florence, Wayfare Tavern
Mourad Lahlou, Aziza
Corey Lee, Benu
Jennifer Puccio, Marlowe
Joshua Skenes, Saison

Click here for a complete list of semifinalists and here for how nominees are selected