Haute 100 LA: Elton John Surprises Concertgoers at Ed Sheeran Show

Previous PostHaute 100 SF: What Did Stephen & Ayesha Curry Name Their New Daughter?
Next PostSerena Williams Wins Wimbledon and Debuts Custom Shoes
Elton John & Ed Sheeran backstag at Wembley.
Sir Elton John & Ed Sheeran backstag at Wembley.

Over the weekend Sir Elton John joined Ed Sheeran on stage at the Wembley Stadium.

At Sheeran’s first of three performances at the Wembley, the ginger-hair singer invited the legendary vocalist to perform a version of Elton and Kiki Dee’s 1976 chart-topping song “Don’t Go Breaking My Heart.”

Prior to introducing the multi Grammy-wining legend, Sheeran said, “People have said ‘Have you achieved your dreams?’ Wembley always seemed too big to dream about. It’s a bit mental. “So I spoke to someone who has had a big impact on my career and he said he wanted to come watch. I said, ‘No you’re coming on stage’.”

According to OK!, John commenced the performance by playing the hit song on the piano. The two singer-songwriters also performed Sheeran’s “Afire Love,” a song that appeared on Sheeran’s sophomore album.

Following the two acts, John took to Instagram to thank Sheeran for inviting him to perform. He said, “Want to share this little snippet of what it felt like sharing the stage with Ed Sheeran at Wembley last night. Thanks so much Ed for inviting me.”

Most recently, the 68-year-old legend made his DJ debut on Apple Music’s Beats 1. John’s “Rocket” is an hour-long radio show, where John will present an eclectic mix of old songs and new releases from his favorite artists, and share with listeners his incredible knowledge of and passion for music of all styles.

“Rocket” is not a podcast, so John fans will have to catch the show live. According to John’s site, the times are as follow:

  • Monday (starting July 6) at 7 pm in Los Angeles, 10 pm in New York, 3 am (Tuesday, July 7) in London, 4 am in Johannesburg, 5 am in Kiev, 11 am in Tokyo, and 12 pm in Sydney.
  • Tuesday (starting July 7) at 6 am in Los Angeles, 9 am in New York, 2 pm in London, 3 pm in Johannesburg, 4 pm in Kiev, 10 pm in Tokyo, and 11 pm in Sydney.
  • Sunday (starting July 12) at 7 pm in Los Angeles, 10 pm in New York, 3 am (Monday, July 13) in London, 4 am in Johannesburg, 5 am in Kiev, 11 am in Tokyo, and 12 pm in Sydney.

(Photo via Instagram)

connect with haute living National
Loader