San Francisco International Film Festival Announces Awards Night

George Lucas at the 2013 Film Society Awards Night  Credit: Drew Altizer Photography

Event: San Francisco International Film Festival

Dates: April 24 – May 8, 2014

Special Event: Film Society Awards Night (FSAN)

Date/Time: May 1 at 6:00PM

Tickets and information on SFFS Awards Night: 415-561-5028 or

The San Francisco Film Society will honor extraordinary guests at its annual Film Society Awards Night (FSAN) during the 57th San Francisco International Film Festival, which runs from April 24–May 8.

The Festival Gala (FSAN) is the Film Society’s premier fundraising event – the highlight of the 10-day festivities – and one of San Francisco’s most highly anticipated black-tie galas. The award evening, which will be held at Regency Ballroom on Thursday, May 1 (6:00pm), will recognize this year’s best and brightest in cinematic achievement.  The evening will begin with a red carpet event followed by award presentations, a beautiful dinner and an elegant and lively party where guests can mingle with the stars.

The guests of honor will be the recipients of four festival awards: Richard Linklater (Dazed and Confused, Before Sunrise) will receive the Founder’s Directing Award; Stephen Gaghan (Traffic, Syriana) will receive the Kanbar Award for excellence in screenwriting; John Lasseter will receive the George Gund III Craft of Cinema Award; and the recipient of the Peter J. Owens Award for acting will be announced shortly.  Victoria Raiser and Todd Traina are co-chairs of this year’s gala. Proceeds from the evening will benefit the Film Society’s Youth Education program.

Harrison Ford  Credit: Drew Altizer Photography
Harrison Ford at the 2013 Film Society Awards Night  Credit: Drew Altizer Photography

Here are more details about the awards being presented:

Founder’s Directing Award: Richard Linklater

The Founder’s Directing Award is presented each year to one of the masters of world cinema and is given in memory of Irving M. Levin, who founded the San Francisco International Film Festival, the longest-running film festival in the Americas, in 1957.  Recent recipients include Philip Kaufman (2013), Kenneth Branagh (2012), Oliver Stone (2011), Walter Salles (2010), Francis Ford Coppola (2009), Mike Leigh (2008), Spike Lee (2007) and Werner Herzog (2006).

Peter J. Owens Award: To be Announced

The Peter J. Owens Award, named after the late local cultural benefactor and longtime SFFS board member, honors an actor whose work exemplifies brilliance, independence and integrity.  The recipient of this award will be announced shortly.

Kanbar Award: Stephen Gaghan

The Kanbar Award acknowledges the critical importance that screenwriting plays in the creation of outstanding films.  The award is named in honor of Maurice Kanbar, a longtime member of the board of directors of the SFFS, a San Francisco film commissioner and a philanthropist with a particular interest in supporting independent filmmakers.

George Gund III Craft of Cinema Award: John Lasseter

The George Gund III Craft of Cinema Award is given in tribute to the longstanding Film Society chairman of the board who passed away in 2013, honoring a worthy member of the filmmaking community for their outstanding and unique contributions to the art of cinema.

Other awardees that will be honored throughout the festival include Isaac Julien (Young Soul Rebels) who will receive the Golden Gate Persistence of Vision Award, and David Thomson (film historian and author), who will receive the Mel Novikoff Award.





Like Haute Living San Francisco? Join our Facebook page or follow us on Twitter @HauteLivingSF. Want Haute Living San Francisco delivered to your inbox once a week? Sign up for our newsletter.