The Perlman Music Program Hosts Summer Benefit in East Hampton

On Saturday, The Perlman Music Program (PMP) held its Annual Summer Benefit hosted by Dorian and Gary Fuhrman in East Hampton, New York.  The evening’s co-chairs are Kristy and James H. Clark and Sidney and Morgan Stark.  The celebration kicked off with a cocktail reception on the waterfront, followed by a performance presented by the PMP String Orchestra and Chorus and conducted by Maestros Itzhak Perlman and Patrick Romano. After, guests enjoyed a festive dinner under the stars.

Founded by Toby Perlman 17 years ago, The Perlman Music Program offers unparalleled musical training to young string players of rare and special talent.  With a world-class faculty led by Itzhak Perlman, the New York City and Shelter Island, NY based program seeks to develop the future leaders of classical music, all within a nurturing and supportive musical community.

This annual event brought together supporters and friends of the Program, and celebrated Toby and Itzhak Perlman’s mission to develop the future leaders of classical music.  This year, the Annual Summer Benefit also commemorated the Kristy and James H. Clark Arts Center, the newest addition to PMP’s Shelter Island campus.  Scheduled for completion in May 2012, this center will feature a recital hall suitable for chamber music, orchestral, and choral performances for an audience of fifty, ten practice rooms constructed with state-of-the-art soundproof materials, and a teaching studio appropriate for private instruction, masterclasses, and ensemble coachings.  In addition, this new building will provide a modern and comfortable living space for female students.  The Kristy and James H. Clark Arts Center will allow PMP to function year-round on Shelter Island, effectively doubling its programming in support of the most talented young string players in the world.  PMP is proud to name this landmark building in honor of Kristy and James H. Clark, whose extraordinary support over the last five years has accelerated the placement of the Program’s physical resources on par with its bold vision for the future.

Guests included:  Elaine and Hirschel B. Abelson; Lidia and Paolo Alberghini; Mrs. Eleanor Albert and guest Ms. Nancy Heiser; Ms. Sophie Askew and guest Mrs. Rennie Howard; Doreen and Gilbert Bassin; Sheila and Stephen Bernard; Ann and Kenneth J. Bialkin; Christine and Randall Blank and guests Mr. Ernst Nijkerk, Barbara and Jeffrey Hoffman, and Carolyn Sanchez and David Woycik; Roberta and Stanley Bogen; Mrs. Barbara Burger and Mr. Michael Rosenberg; Mr. Robert L. Cahill, Jr.; Helen and Murray Charash; Kristy and James H. Clark; Mr. Craig Coleman; Mr. Howard E. Cox, Jr.; Kristi and John Cumming and guests Libby and Justin Sautter; Christina and David M. deForest Keys; Mr. Jay S. Dweck; Stuart and Lynn Epstein; Mr. Paul Ferrillo; Dr. Marjorie M. Fisher and guests Allisandra Aronow, Michael Charles, and Isabel Tobias; Dorian and Gary Fuhrman and guests Monica and Brent Humphries, Wandy Yeap Hoh and William Hoh, Darcy and Andy Nussbaum, Maggie and Gordon Gray, and Adam and Beth Ann Finerman; Ms. Barbara Gladstone and guests Kai Althoff, Barbara Jakobson, TJ Wilcox, Annabelle Selldorf, John Reinhold, and Todd Huckleberry; Ms. Barbara L. Goldsmith; Mei Sze and Jeff Greene; Linda and Paul B. Gridley; James C. Grimes and Norah Hegarty; Dina Merrill Hartley and Ted Hartley; Sharon Stern and William H. Hyman; Katherine and Peter L. Juhas; Sonja and Anthony Kane; Ellen and Howard C. Katz; Marie-Chantal and Judah Klausner; Ms. Susan Lloyd and guests Gigi and Harry Benson, Victoria and Frank Wyman, and Elfie and Gilbert Lloyd; The Honorable and Mrs. Earle I. Mack (Carol); Ellen and James S. Marcus; Ms. Frederica Mathelier; Sherry and Douglas Oliver and guest Ms. Bee Tham; Toby and Itzhak Perlman; Dr. and Mrs. Hyman Rabinovitch (Susan); Dr. Julie Ratner and Sam Eskanazi; Sheila J. Robbins and George Schwab; Peter Rosen and guests Tanya Rosen and Mira Spektor; Robert and Yvonne Korshak Ruben; Carol and Lawrence Saper; Rabbi and Mrs. Barton Shallat (Jane); Jennifer and Albert A. Sibony; Ms. Laura J. Sloate and guests Abby Wolk and Norma and Stuart Gastwirth; Sidney and Morgan B. Stark; Lynn and Peter Tishman; and Svetlana and Herbert Wachtell.

Like Haute Living New York? Join our Facebook page or follow us on Twitter @HauteLivingNY. Want Haute Living New York delivered to your inbox once a week? Sign up for our newsletter.