Angelina Jolie, Jake Gyllenhaal, Margot Robbie And More Honored At Hollywood Film Awards

Angelina Jolie
Angelina Jolie

Photo Credit: (Photo by Neilson Barnard/Getty Images)Los Angeles welcomed the Hollywood Film Awards, known as the event that opens awards season each year. The 21st annual awards at the Beverly Hilton brought out major star power on Sunday to honor some of the year’s best films, including I, Tonya, Stronger, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, Stronger, Mudbound, and The Big Sick. Over its 21 years, more than 120 honorees have gone on to score Oscar nominations and/or wins.

Angelina Jolie had heads turning with an ensemble that recalled old Hollywood glamour in a Jenny Packham silver silk robe gown and matching shoes, along with red lipstick and nails.

Jolie was being honored for her new movie First They Killed My Father along with writer Loung Ung with the foreign language film award. The women dedicated the award to Cambodian artists today and the crew members who were brave enough to make the film in the midst of a repressive political climate.

Kate Winslet and Allison Janney
Kate Winslet and Allison Janney

Photo Credit: (Photo by Kevin Winter/Getty Images)

But no one stole the show like Kate Winslet and Allison Janney. After Winslet told the crowd she’d love to be like Janney and even lock lips, Janney happily obliged. Both women were being honored, with Winslet taking home the top actress award for Wonder Wheel, and Janney taking home supporting actress for I, Tonya.

Andra Day and Common performed their Hollywood Song Award-winning anthem “Stand Up for Something” from the film Marshall. Writer Diane Warren accepted the award, speaking out about the timeliness of the song’s anti-hate message.

Jake Gyllenhaal dedicated his Hollywood Actor Award to Jeff Bauman, the Boston Marathon terrorist attack survivor he plays in Stronger. And Harrison Ford received a standing ovation when he came forward to present the Hollywood Producer Award to the team behind Blade Runner 2049.

Harrison Ford
Harrison Ford

Photo Credit: (Photo by Christopher Polk/Getty Images for HFA)

It’s now officially the countdown to the Oscars as Hollywood prepares to launch into full-on lobbying mode.

The full list of awards is as follows:

“Hollywood Career Achievement Award”: Gary Oldman

“Hollywood Actor Award”: Jake Gyllenhaal for Stronger, presented by Amy Adams

“Hollywood Supporting Actor Award”: Sam Rockwell for Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, presented by Vince Vaughn

“Hollywood Actress Award”: Kate Winslet for Wonder Wheel, presented by Shailene Woodley

“Hollywood Supporting Actress Award”: Allison Janney for I, Tonya, presented by Melissa McCarthy

“Hollywood Comedy Award”: Adam Sandler for The Meyerowitz Stories, presented by Dustin Hoffman

“Hollywood Breakout Performance Actress Award”: Mary J. Blige for Mudbound, presented by Viola Davis

“Hollywood Breakout Performance Actor Award”: Timothée Chalamet for Call Me By Your Name, presented by Dakota Johnson

“New Hollywood Award”: Jamie Bell for Film Stars Don’t Die in Liverpool, presented by Annette Bening

“Hollywood Documentary Award”: Sean Combs for Can’t Stop Won’t Stop: Bad Boy Story

“Hollywood Ensemble Award”: I, Tonya cast including Margot Robbie, Allison Janney, Sebastian Stan, Julianne Nicholson, Mckenna Grace, and Caitlin Carver, presented by Noomi Rapace

(L-R) Honorees Kumail Nanjiani, Zoe Kazan, Holly Hunter and Ray Romano
(L-R) Honorees Kumail Nanjiani, Zoe Kazan, Holly Hunter and Ray Romano

Photo Credit: (Photo by Neilson Barnard/Getty Images)

“Hollywood Comedy Ensemble Award”: The Bick Sick cast including Kumail Nanjiani, Holly Hunter, Zoe Kazan, and Ray Romano, presented by Jon Favreau

“Hollywood Breakout Ensemble Award”: Mudbound cast including Carey Mulligan, Garrett Hedlund, Mary J. Blige, Jason Mitchell, Jason Clarke, Rob Morgan, and Jonathan Banks, presented by Janelle Monáe

“Hollywood Song Award”: Common, Andra Day, and Diane Warren for “STAND UP FOR SOMETHING” from Marshall

“Hollywood Foreign Language Film Award”: Angelina Jolie and Loung Ung for First They Killed My Father, presented by Jacqueline Bisset

“Hollywood Director Award”: Joe Wright for Darkest Hour, presented by Bryce Dallas Howard

“Hollywood Breakthrough Director Award”: Taylor Sheridan for Wind River, presented by Elizabeth Olsen

“Hollywood Producer Award”: Broderick Johnson, Andrew Kosove, and Cynthia Yorkin for Blade Runner 2049, presented by Harrison Ford

“Hollywood Screenwriter Award”: Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber for The Disaster Artist, presented by James Franco

“Hollywood Animation Award”: Coco, presented by Eva Longoria

“Hollywood Cinematography Award”: Roger Deakins for Blade Runner 2049

“Hollywood Film Composer Award”: Thomas Newman for Victoria & Abdul

“Hollywood Editor Award”: Sidney Wolinsky for The Shape of Water

“Hollywood Visual Effects Award”: Joe Letteri, Dan Lemmon, Dan Barrett and Erik Winquist for War for the Planet of the Apes

“Hollywood Sound Award”: Addison Teague & Dave Acord for Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2

“Hollywood Costume Design Award”: Jacqueline Durran for Darkest Hour and Beauty and the Beast

“Hollywood Make Up & Hair Styling Award”: Jenny Shircore for Beauty and the Beast 

“Hollywood Production Design Award”: Dennis Gassner for Blade Runner 2049