Gwyneth Paltrow Goes Green at the Environmental Media Awards

 Blythe Danner (L) and honoree Gwyneth Paltrow attend the 25th annual EMA Awards
Blythe Danner (L) and honoree Gwyneth Paltrow attend the 25th annual EMA Awards

Photo Credit: Rich Polk/Getty Images for Environmental Media Awards

When you’re being honored for your commitment to the environment, you might as well look the part. Gwyneth Paltrow pulled off the role of eco-warrior perfectly in a seafoam green, cut-out Cushnie et Ochs gown as she accepted the 2015 Green Parent Award from her mother, Blythe Danner, for her efforts to increase visibility of important environmental issues at the Environmental Media Association Awards. 

The Environmental Media Association (EMA) was founded in 1989 by Cindy and Alan Horn and Lyn and Norman Lear; it is dedicated to inspiring solutions for the environment through our impact in media and pop culture. The organization has grown into a diverse group of industry professionals from film, television and music dedicated to the mission of promoting environmental awareness through the entertainment business and the media.

Paltrow wasn’t the only winner at the event, which was held a Warner Bros. Studios in Burbank on Oct. 22.  Kristin Davis accepted the EMA Wildlife Conservation Award; George Miller the Lifetime Achievement Award; Don Henley the EMA Missions in Music; Van Jones the EMA Greenbiz Global Innovator Award; and Zem and James Joaquin the EMA Corporate Responsibility Award. 

The event was hosted by EMAs Young Hollywood Board member, Lance Bass. Presenters included Blythe Danner, Rosie Huntington-Whiteley, Lisa Schwartz (aka LisBug), Karrueche Tran, Lyn and Norman Lear, Amy Smart, Stana Katic, Rachelle Lefevre, Dawn Olivieri, Constance Zimmer, Emmanuelle Chriqui, Carter Oosterhouse, Yeardley Smith, Darby Stanchfield, Shohreh Aghdashloo, Wendie Malick and Sarah Wright Olsen and Eric Christian Olsen. Attendees include: Jessica Biel, Daryl Hannah, Kat McPhee, Justin Chatwin, Andie MacDowell, Ed Begley Jr., Frances Fisher, Peter & Parky Fonda, Poppy Jaime, Mike Epps, Angela Lindvall, Justin Chatwin, Dita Von Tease, Vinessa Shaw, Katharine McPhee and many more.  DJ Chis Kennedy (aka Chris Masterson) DJ’d the party. 
During the program, the EMAs announcement the launch of the general membership program, which will allow people worldwide to help support EMA’s mission and build upon the iconic programs EMA has already created.   
2015 EMA Awards Winners Include:
Feature Film
Interstellar (Paramount)
Christopher Nolan: Director, Writer, Producer
Jonathan Nolan: Writer
Lynda Obst: Producer
Emma Thomas: Producer
Documentary Film
Virunga (Netflix)
Orlando von Einsiedel: Director, Producer
Leonardo Dicaprio: Executive Producer
Jon Drever: Executive Producer
Maxyne Franklin: Executive Producer
Jess Search: Executive Producer
Adam Del Deo: Executive Producer
Lisa Nishimura: Executive Producer
Howard G. Buffett: Executive Producer
Television Episodic Drama
The Newsroom: (HBO)
Aaron Sorkin: Executive Producer, Writer
Alan Poul: Executive Producer
Scott Rudin: Executive Producer
Denis Biggs: Executive Producer
Paul Lieberstein: Executive Producer
Anthony Hemingway: Co-Executive Producer
Jon Lovett: Producer, Writer
Television Episodic Comedy
The Simpson’s: Opposites-A-Frack (Fox)
Al Jean: Executive Producer
James L. Brooks: Executive Producer
Matt Groening: Executive Producer
Sam Simon: Executive Producer
Matt Selman: Executive Producer
John Frink: Executive Producer
Kevin Curran: Co-Executive Producer
J. Stewart Burns: Co-Executive Producer
Michael Price: Co-Executive Producer
Bill Odenkirk: Co-Executive Producer
Marc Wilmore: Co-Executive Producer
Joel H. Cohen: Co-Executive Producer
Rob Lazebnik: Co-Executive Producer
Jeff Westbrook: Co-Executive Producer
Brian Kelley: Co-Executive Producer
Reality Television
Vice: Our Rising Oceans (HBO)
Bill Maher: Executive Producer
Shane Smith: Executive Producer
Eddy Moretti: Executive Producer
BJ Levin: Executive Producer
Jonah Kaplin: Co- Executive Producer
Tim Clancy: Supervising Producer
Erik Osterholm: Producer
Alex Braverman: Producer
Mandana Mofidi: Additional Producer
David Laven: Additional Producer
Abazar Khayami: Additional Producer
Children’s Television
Miles From Tomorrowland: Junked (Disney)
John Eng: Director
Kelly James: Director
Sascha Paladino: Executive Producer
Richard Marlis: Executive Producer
Carmen Italia: Executive Producer
Participant Media Presents Best Digital Short
Dear Future Generations: Sorry
Richard Williams (Prince EA) – Executive Producer


Rosie Huntington-Whiteley attends the 25th annual EMA Awards
Rosie Huntington-Whiteley attends the 25th annual EMA Awards

Photo Credit: Rich Polk/Getty Images for Environmental Media Awards