Haute Event: Couture Council Luncheon Honoring Carolina Herrera

Oscar de la Renta, Carolina Herrera, Ralph Lauren
Oscar de la Renta, Carolina Herrera, and Ralph Lauren

Fashion designer—and Haute Living‘s current cover starCarolina Herrera was honored by the Couture Council of The Museum at the Fashion Institute of Technology on Sept. 3. More than 600 guests came out for the star-studded event at Lincoln Center, which raises nearly $1 million.

Founded in 2004, the Couture Council of the Museum at Fashion Institute of Technology is a membership group dedicated to support the museum at FIT—the only museum dedicated to the art of fashion. Donations help to acquire new items for the museum collection, as well as to mount exhibitions and to organize public programs.

Renee Zellweger, Seth Meyers, Alexi Ashe
Renee Zellweger, Seth Meyers, and Alexi Ashe

“It is an honor to be the recipient of the 2014 Couture Council Award,” Herrera told the crowd. “I have great admiration for the Museum at FIT because it is link between fashion, culture and the rich history of our industry.”

Martha Stewart, Susan Magrino
Martha Stewart and Susan Magrino

Honorary luncheon chairs were Maria Cristina Anzola, Amy Fine Collins, Emilia Fanjul, Carolina Herrera De Báez, Julie Koch, Alexandra Kotur, Patricia Lansing, Lucy Liu, Marigay McKee, Alexi Ashe Meyers, André Leon Talley, Lynn Wyatt, and Renée Zellweger. Notable attendees included Maria Cristina Anzola, Glenda Bailey, Hilaria Baldwin, Dennis Basso, Dr. Joyce F. Brown, Serena Boardman, Graydon Carter, Amy Fine Collins, Oscar and Annette de la Renta, John Dempsey, Prince Dimitri of Yugoslavia, Linda Fargo, Jay Fielden, Fe Fendi, Kathleen Hearst, Yaz Hernández, Reinaldo Herrera, Donna Karan, Mariana Kaufman, Julia Koch, Alexandra Kotur, Steven Kolb, Kenneth Jay Lane, Patricia Lansing, Ralph Lauren, Alexandra Lebenthal, Lucy Liu, Aileen Mehle, Seth and Alexi Meyers, b Michael, Josie Natori, Liz Peek, Marc Puig, Emilie Rubinfeld, Martha Stewart, Gina Sanders, Abigail Spencer, Dr. Valerie Steele, André Leon Talley, Stefano Tonchi, Ivanka Trump, Linda Wells, Jacqueline Weld Drake, Anna Wintour, Lynn Wyatt, and Renee Zellweger.

Photo credit: Joe Schildhorn/BFA