13th Annual Galaxy Gala Kick-Off Luncheon

Jennifer Montoya, Trish Bell, & Shelly Dimitrijevic
Jennifer Montoya, Trish Bell, and Shelly Dimitrijevic

The Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science hosted their kickoff luncheon for the 13th Annual Galaxy Gala and Young Patrons Big Bang after-party. The afternoon affair was sponsored by Asprey and hosted at Metro 1 Properties’ Filling Station Lofts.

Gala co-chairs, Jennifer Montoya and Shelly Dimitrijevic, welcomed over 40 participants to mark the beginning of the committee’s efforts to organize and plan the annual gala in support of the Museum’s new state-of-the-art facility under construction in downtown Miami’s Museum Park.

Notable attendees included Philanthropic Chair Trish Bell and the Big Bang Co-Chairs: Ali Lamadrid, Lena Lowell and Cristina Mas. The Museum’s President & CEO Gillian Thomas gave an update on the construction progress of the Museum before the committee shared the news of Nancy Hector coming onboard as Honorary Chair, and Jacqueline Simkin joining Betty Brandt as Presenting Chairs of the event.

The 13th Annual Galaxy Gala will take place next year on Saturday, April 18, 2015 at Hilton Miami Downtown. The event is famous for integrating science  The experience begins with a cocktail reception featuring live animals and an auction, followed by dining, dancing and entertainment. During the Gala, the Museum will honor the following individuals and organizations to acknowledge those who have exhibited exceptional leadership and commitment to the development and building of the new Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science: The Visionary Award will be presented to Sandy Batchelor and Nancy & Jon Batchelor; the Patricia and Phillip Frost Museum of Science award will be given to Julia Rea Bianchi; and Baptist Health South Florida will receive the Vanguard Award. For more information on sponsorship and ticketing for the Galaxy Gala and Big Bang, contact Ruth Robinson at rrobinson@sciencegala.com