Inside the 2014 Independent Spirit Awards

Photo: WireImage
Photo: WireImage

The rainy Oscar-week weather didn’t deter haute Hollywood from heading to the beach to attend the 2014 Independent Spirit Awards.

On Saturday, March 1, Film Independent, the nonprofit arts organization that produces the Spirit Awards and the Los Angeles Film Festival, handed out top honors to 12 Years a Slave, Dallas Buyers Club and Nebraska at this afternoon’s 29th Film Independent Spirit Awards.

Patton Oswalt hosted the Santa Monica-based ceremony, which also honored independent films such as Blue Jasmine, Fruitvale Station, Blue is the Warmest Color, Short Term 12, This is Martin Bonner and 20 Feet from Stardom.

Big winners at the Lincoln-sponsored ceremony included Cate Blanchett, Matthew McConaughey, Jared Leto and Lupita Nyong’o as well as the cast of Mud (which also included McConaughey) as well as Joe Don Baker, Jacob Lofland, Matthew McConaughey, Ray McKinnon, Sarah Paulson, Michael Shannon, Sam Shepard, Tye Sheridan, Paul Sparks, Bonnie Sturdivant and Reese Witherspoon, with the 7th annual Robert Altman Award; 12 Years a Slave and its producers such as Brad Pitt and Dede Gardner were also honored.

Presenters included Andy Samberg, Angela Bassett, Anna Kendrick, Aubrey Plaza, Bill Hader, Cate Blanchett, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Diego Luna, Elisabeth Moss, Fred Armisen, Garrett Hedlund, Gong Li, Greta Gerwig, Jane Lynch, Jason Bateman, Jeremy Renner, Jon Hamm, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Kathyrn Hahn, Keanu Reeves, Kristen Bell, Matthew McConaughey, Marc Maron, Michael Sheen, Miles Teller, Paula Patton, Octavia Spencer, Paul Dano, Reese Witherspoon, Rosario Dawson, Sarah Paulson, Will Forte and Zoe Kravtiz.

Image: WireImage
Image: WireImage

Entertainment was provided in the form of 20 Feet from Stardom documentary stars Darlene Love, Judith Hill, Merry Clayton and Tata Vega, who took to the stage during the show.

Additional highlights of the event included lounges by Stella Artois, Piaget and Patron tequila, while the Lincoln Motor Company hosted its “Unsung Heroes” lounge, inviting viewers to explore the personal stories of the gaffers, cinematographers, assistant directors, and makeup artists who have worked tirelessly to create the independent films that were recognized this year.

Celebrities including Rosario Dawson, Angela Bassett, Cate Blanchett, Elisabeth Röhm, Jeremy Renner, Jane Lynch, Greta Gerwig, Michael Fassbender, Fred Armisen, Alex Karpovsky, Zoe Kravitz, Miles Teller, Krysten Ritter, Caitrin Rogers, Will Forte, Diego Luna, Angelique Cabral, Brie Larson, Darlene Love, Gaby Hoffman, John Waters, Judith Hill, Julie Delpy, Andrew Dice Clay , Sally Hawkins, June Squibb, Keith Stanfield, Laura Dern, Marc Maron, Mark Duplass, Katie Asselton, Michael Sheen, Michaela Watkins, Ming-Na Wen, Natalie Morales, Paul Dano, Stana Katic and Willie Garson also attended On 3 Productions’ backstage Breyers Gelato Indulgences gift lounge and picked up items such as New Balance Fresh Foam 980 sneakers, a DJI Phantom 2 Vision flying camera, Dark Horse wine and Sabra. 

Like Haute Living Los Angeles? Join our Facebook page or follow us on Twitter @HauteLivingMag.