15th Annual Time for Peace Film & Music Awards

The 15th Annual Time for Peace Film & Music Awards, presented by Maurice Lacroix, is taking place in New York City at the luxurious Jumeirah Essex House on Wednesday, October 28, 2009.

The Time for Peace Film & Music Awards was launched in 1994 in New York by Marion Einbeck and Robert Einbeck to further the film and music industries need for additional promotion of humanist values such as tolerance, better understanding between people, respect for differences, and human solidarity. “The underlying intention of Time for Peace is to inspire hope through films and music and to show how heroes who aspire to the best in a human life could serve as examples for a large audience.” Each year, a panel of experts selects the nominees, and a jury committee consisting of 20-30 ambassadors to the U.N. chooses the winners.

To celebrate the 15th year of this momentous event, the evening will be presented by Maurice Lacroix who is also the official watch sponsor for the Time for Peace Film & Music Awards. The show will be hosted by Michael Nouri and will feature a musical performance by pianist Simone Dinnerstein. Scheduled to attend the event is actress Emily Mortimer, director and producer Malcolm Lee, fashion designer Catherine Malandrino, NBA star Dikemble Mutombo, Time for Peace founders Marion and Robert Einbeck, producer Kristin Jones, Miss. Africa USA Nyasha Zimucha, along with several other guests including multiple U.N. leaders.

This year’s winners of the Time for Peace Awards include:

Film: Filmmaker, Mark Herman for The Boy In The Striped Pajamas
First Film: Filmmaker Anthony Fabian for Skin
European Film: Filmmaker Philippe Muyl for Magic
Music Film Award: Singer and Songwriter Cali
Musical Group: the Hjaltalin for their song “The Trees Don’t Like the Smoke”

15th Annual Time for Peace Film & Music Awards Details:
The Jumeirah Essex House – 160 Central Park South (between 6th and 7th)
Wednesday, October 28th, 2009
Media Check-In: 6pm (Petit Salon)
Cocktails: 6:30pm