Liquidity Project Benefit for Chelsea Galleries and Artists Affected by Hurricane Sandy at Soho Beach House

Previous PostHaute Event: The Stars of The Wicked Girls Party at Tao
Next PostChicago Interactive Social Club's Industry Sunday

Images: Courtesy of Erin Parish

A benefit dubbed the Liquidity Project will be held for Chelsea galleries and artists affected by Hurricane Sandy in conjunction with the Soho Beach House in Miami Beach. 

Hurricane Sandy hit the Chelsea neighborhood hard when it crashed into the Hudson River. With a significant number of galleries located in the hard-hit area, many of them endured serious damage, while some were completely destroyed.

Artist Erin Parish was one of the many either directly or indirectly affected by the storm. Her biennial solo exhibition was shuttered due to the storm and she decided she “wanted to do something to help and formed the Liquidity Project. The Liquidity Project is an online art auction benefit whose proceeds will go to help those most harmed by Sandy in Chelsea’s art community,” according to the press release. Proceeds will be allocated to galleries in need of relief by the Art Dealer Association of America (artdealers.org).

Donated artwork will be auctioned online and can be previewed from January 15 through 29 on the Paddle8 virtual auction house website under the name Liquidity Project, according to a press release. At 10 a.m. on January 29, the auction will go live and bidding will be open until midnight on February 12. 

The project will culminate in an event at the penthouse of Soho Beach House in Miami Beach where a selection of works will be hung just prior to the final bidding on February 12. Since artists will be shipping the auctioned artwork straight from their studios if they choose, not all artwork will be physically at the event, however, guests will enjoy a selection of pieces along with music, a full bar and Mexican dishes. 

A former long-time resident of New York City, Parish currently lives and works in Miami Beach. Hurricane Sandy did not harm any of her works or severely damage her gallery, Winston Wachter Fine Art, but she knew she had to do something to help those less fortunate. 

The confirmed list of artists donating artwork for the project include: 

Bo Bartlett http://www.bobartlett.com

Martin Casuso http:/Martincasuso.com

Allissa Christine http://www.ilovemiami365.com

Sydney Cooper http://sydneycooper.com

Paul Clemence http://paulclemence.com

Gregory Coates http://www.gregorycoates.blogspot.com

Edward Crowell II http://edcrowelliitheartist.wix.com/ed-ii

Craig Cully http://www.craigcully.com

Walter Dunnington

Betsy Eby http://www.betsyeby.com

Nicolas Guillen IV http://www.nicolasguillen4th.com

Linda Lippa http:/lippa.biz

Christin Paige Minnotte http://www.christinpaigeminnotte.com

Philip Ross Munro http://www.philiprossmunro.com

Ethan Murrow http://www.bigpaperairplane.com

Mark Osterman http://mark-osterman.blogspot.com

Erin Parish http:/erinparish.com

Tom Parish http:/tomparish.net

Kenneth Perenyi http://www.kenperenyi.com

Nancy Schmugge

Gilda Snowden http://gildasnowden.com

Juan Carlos Zaldivar. http://www.zaldivar.info/main.html

Sheila Elias  sheilaelias.com
Christopher Boffoli  bigappetites.net
Oliver Krisch oliverkrisch.com
Laura Watt laurawatt.net
Julie Davidow juliedavidow.com
Michael Abrams website
Bridgit Duvall Kennedy
Tony Sherman  tonyscherman.com
Ada Balcacer  website
Ginger Harris  gingdawn.com
Lincoln Schatz   lincolnschatz.com

Like Haute Living Miami? Join our Facebook page or follow us on Twitter @HauteLivingFL. Want Haute Living Miami delivered to your inbox once a week? Sign up for our newsletter.

connect with haute living National
Loader